SKU: CD 0025 Categories: , ,


ALLAN BOTSCHINSKY: Trumpet, Flugelhorn
DEREK WATKINS: Trumpet, Flugelhorn
BART VAN LIER: Trombone, Euphonium
ERIK VAN LIER: Trombone, Basstrombone, Tuba

1. Interlude NO. 4
2. October Sunshine
3. Kubismus 502
4. Wiegenlied
5. Don’t shoot the Banjo player (’cause we’ve done it already)
6. Toot your roots
7. The lady in blue
8. Alster promenade
9. Chops a la salsa
10. Love Waltz

The idea of FIRST BRASS was born out of a dissatisfaction with the modern music which is increasingly a product of synthesizers, drum machines and sequencers, and out of my exuberant love for the qualities of natural brass instruments.

I got together with Allan Botschinsky, the acclaimed and highly respected Danish composer and master of the trumpet and flugelhorn, to produce a new kind of brass music – music with the drive and rhythmical feeling of modern pop and jazz but without the ever-present rhythm group – music which shows the nearly limitless possibilities of the brass family – music of a virtuosity to challenge the best brass players. At Allan’s instigation, Derek Watkins from England and Bart and Erik van Lier from Holland joined him to form the group. Thanks to these players’ artistry, care and enthusiasm, and thanks to Allan’s ingenious writing, the album turned out fantastic and I am convinced that it will set a new standard in brass music.


Marion Kaempfert and Allan Botschinsky became a successful producer team and founded the jazzlabel MA Music. After First Brass they released another 15 albums with such soloists as Nils-Henning ├śrsted Pedersen, Lee Konitz, Thomas Clausen, Gary Burton, and The European Jazz Ensemble.

Additional information

Weight 100 g


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “FIRST BRASS”